A French Art Deco platinum and diamond brooch depicting a Pekingnese dog in pavé diamonds with enamel nose and eyes in a baguette diamond frame.
Doesn’t this little guy have the best haughty expression?
In 1835, Leopold Janesich opened his first shop in Trieste, where he sold jewelry and silverware to the international clientele which frequented the Capo di Piazza, a cultural and social meeting place. Around 1913, the house opened up on Rue de la Paix between Tiffany and Cartier in Paris and another branch in Monte Carlo. In the intervening years before WWII, they also opened up in the fashionable resorts of Deauville, by the Atlantic and Vichy, in the mountains.
After Leopold’s passing in 1880, his son Giovanni, in 1896 started trading gems and pearls with other jewelry houses such as Bulgari in Italy and Vever, Boucheron and Chaumet in France. Tiffany purchased considerable amounts of pearls from them during this time.
Betweeen WWI and WWII, the Janesich house was frequented by European royals and society icons. In addition to winning several royal appointments, they also created the crown which lies on the head of the ‘Madonna’ in the Sanctuary of Castelmonte, Italy.
Today, the Janesich family tradition is being carried on by the sixth heir of the family, Francesco Janesich, in Trieste, Italy. Jewellery, precious cups and objects are still being produced by the 175 year old name.
Images courtesy of Hancocks, Janesich1835.com, ALVR